
Who is Eligible to Receive Certified Copy  
Of An AZ Fetal Death Record  

(A.C.C. R-9-19-314) 
 

Arizona is a "closed record" state. That means 
that vital records are not public record.  
 
Arizona law identifies those who are eligible to 
receive a certified copy of an Arizona death 
record: 
 
Who is Eligible to Apply in Arizona: 
 

1. A parent of a fetus or a person who is 
of legal age and who is authorized by a 
parent of the fetus may request a 
certified or noncertified copy of a 
certificate of fetal death registration 
for the fetus 

 
2. For a parent whose name is not 

included in the registered fetal death 
record, documentation demonstrating 
that the person submitting the request 
is a parent of the fetus 

 
3. A person authorized by a parent of the 

fetus to receive a certified or 
noncertified copy of the certificate of 
fetal death registration for the fetus 

 
4. Only persons 18 years of age or older 

may obtain a certified copy of a 
certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth. 
In addition, to protect the 
confidentiality rights of our citizens, 
Arizona law specifies that only the 
parents listed on the record or another 

person authorized by one of the 
parents may obtain a certified copy of 
a certificate of birth resulting in 
stillbirth 

 
Presenting documentation and forms of ID                
in languages other than English: 

Note: An applicant presenting documents 
from a foreign country as proof of relationship 
or proof of eligibility must provide certified 
copies of the documents. Photocopies are not 
acceptable. The applicant must also provide a 
certified translation of the documents. 

 

How to Apply for a Certified Copy: 
 
Apply In Person 
 
We offer same day service for eligible 
applicants requesting certified copies from all 
5 of our locations. 
 
At our office, please be prepared to: 
 

1. Complete and sign an application 
2. Provide your current and valid 

government issued photo ID with your 
signature or have your application 
notarized 

3. Provide any additional factual 
documentation to prove relationship 
or eligibility as required 

4. Appropriate fee 
5. Be certain you signed your application, 

provided a reliable phone number 
 

Note:  We will not be able to provide same 
day service for ineligible applicants or for 
applicants who do not have a valid, current, 
government issued photo ID with their 
signature. 
 
The average processing time for applications 
submitted through the mail is five business 
days from the date received by MCOVR 
 
Apply by Mail 
 
Download applications and forms at 
www.MaricopaVitalRecords.com 
 
The instructions for completing an application 

by mail are the same as above under Apply in 

Person. 

Expedited Service 
 
VitalChek, Inc. is an independent company the 
state has partnered with to provide online 
ordering.  Additional fees apply much like a 
UPS or FedEx service.   
 
The same rules and requirements concerning 
eligibility and possible required documents 
and fees apply when making a request.   
 
VitalChek, Inc. accepts major credit cards 
including American Express®, Discover®, 
MasterCard®, or Visa®. 

 

 
 
 
 

http://www.maricopavitalrecords.com/


Ver.  Sept 2021 

 
Fees: 

 

Certified Copy -    $20.00 

Correction\Amendment -   $30.00* 

*Includes 1 Certified Copy 

 

Accepted Forms of Payment: 
 

Money Order 
Cashier’s Check 

**American Express 
**Discover 

**MasterCard  
**Visa 

 

**Credit card holder’s valid government 
issued, signed photo ID is required 

 

 
Mailing Address 

 
Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration 

PO Box 2111 
Phoenix, AZ 85001 

 
2016 Update 

 
The State of Arizona recently revised the 

rules that govern how vital records are 

managed. 

Please take a few moments to read carefully. 

Information has been revised. 

 

www.MaricopaVitalRecords.com 
 

 

4 Locations VALLEYWIDE 

 
** Same Day Service 
** Printable Forms  

 

 
Central Valley 

3221 N. 16th St. Ste. 100 
Phoenix, AZ 85016 

 
East Valley 

331 E. Coury Ave., 
Mesa, AZ 85210 

 
West Valley 

1850 N. 95th Ave. Ste. 182 
Phoenix, AZ 85037 

 
Northwest 

8088 W. Whitney Dr., 2nd Floor 
Peoria, AZ 85345 

 
 

 
 

 
 
Hours:   8:00am - 4:30pm 
 

Phone:  602-506-6805 
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